Time for the Edu-Resolutions Post!

Edu-Resolutions for 2012

As this year comes to an end, it is time for the annual Edu-Resolutions Post!  I can’t believe it is already time to bring in a New Year.  The list is small but I hope manageable, as the career of teaching can be overwhelming all by itself.  There is no need for more pressure but a set of goals is always welcome.  Without further ado….

 Continue My Professional Development With My PLN!

Since moving schools this year after twelve years at my previous school, my learning curve has been quite steep in the new building and my time with Twitter and associated reading has gone down.  I am getting settled into my new home and am committed to continue challenging my own practices and thoughts in education.  It has taken me some time but now I can find the graduated cylinders!

 Remember Every Day is an Opportunity for Growth

With all the things going on, lessons and labs and interactions, it is easy to get pulled into the details and lose a bit of sight of my main goal of education.  Whether it is my students, my colleagues, or myself every day is an opportunity to learn something about the world and/or ourselves.  We are so lucky to be able to be lifelong learners.

 Evolution, Not Revolution

A good friend of mine once said: “change is the only constant.”  In our education system, there have been a lot of movements and there are definitely more to come.  The BC government’s BC Education Plan will surely contribute, too.  However change comes and at whatever pace, I think it is important to take it in stride, like the process of evolution and not like a sudden wholesale and shocking revolution.  The latter often brings on stress and the fear of the unknown, which are the very things that can get in the way of change.

Thanks for reading and a Happy New Year to all of you!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

