The Only Thing Constant is CHANGE

Change TileSo far summer has been restful and reflective.  Even though school is out, there is still a lot of Twitter action and focused conversations going on that constantly keeps my perspective changing on a plethora of educational issues.  I like to think of this constant change as a gradual evolution rather than a flip-flopping between viewpoints.  Twitter, and all the different opinions and perspectives to consider, IS constant professional development.  Thank you to all of you in my PLN.  You have all contributed to the reframing of my thinking, and thus my growth as an educator.

This summer, I have been getting ready to change schools like I did two years ago.  However, this time I am so fortunate to take on a new role as an administrator and educational leader, and in a new district too.  I am so excited to do my best to keep up with the impending super-steep learning curve.  My change in schools two years ago was the best thing I could have done for my own professional growth.  Having the opportunity to work with new colleagues, in a new learning community, offered so many new and valuable experiences.  It is something I wish for all my colleagues but during a time of declining enrolment in most BC school districts, movement is very difficult.  However, this is a topic for another time…

The thing about change is that it is constant like the tile above.  (Source: Freethinkers Club on Facebook).  For myself, as a teacher, summer was a time to re-evaluate what worked and didn’t work so well, allowing me to tweak the latter.  With everything going on during the busy school year, the reflection phase of meaningful change did not always get the time it deserved.  I am enjoying the time and space to consider what I could change about my perspective and practice for next month.  What would you change for you this upcoming school year?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

